Tag Archives: Guardians of the Word

Into the World of Audio Books: the Release

 

 

Your audio book is complete! You’ve fine-tuned and approved the book for release and then … you wait. You wait a while, or maybe it only seemed that way.

It took about 2 weeks for the CHOSEN audio book files to move through ACX’s approval process. There are technical standards of quality that they check out and make sure are up to snuff. If you’re recording your audio book yourself, make sure you’re familiar with those standards and can meet them.

That’s one reason I chose to hire a producer who already had all that necessary knowledge and equipment. If you don’t have the background, you’ll have to learn it. If you don’t have the equipment and programs you need to create a quality audio book recording, you’ll have to buy it and you have to have a space to record that’s more or less sound-proofed. Where I live now – in a cottage a block off the waterfront – I have gulls outside my windows. The wind blows constantly. I have cats too who don’t understand ‘be quiet’. Cars, mowers, boats, and the neighbors wind chimes aren’t conducive to producing a quality recording.

Another alternative to creating a recording room in my home, is to hire a studio, which is expensive. Maybe one day I’ll go that route, in a recording studio, particularly when I get to the bigger books that are over 100K words, but that’s a ways down the road.

Today, I have an audio book that I’m very happy with live on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes!

Chosen Audio Cover1

Click the pic to go to Amazon, here for Audible or iTunes

I checked my ACX page a number of times during the two weeks – more than I needed to since they emailed me when the audio book went live. There was one update they didn’t email me about and that was after the book passed their quality check. On my ACX page the status bar changed to ‘headed to retail’ and then I waited some more.

Finally, I got the email – your audio book is now live.

There was some info missing or I couldn’t find it being so excited that the project was now complete and released. ACX didn’t give me (or I couldn’t find where they did) any links to CHOSEN’s sales page, so I had to hunt them down myself. Not hard, exactly, but it would be super convenient if ACX provided direct links. You’ll definitely need them because now that you have a live audio book, you’ll want to tell people where they can get it. (See above!)

On Amazon, this turns out to be the book’s sales page where you can buy the book in digital or print formats (if you have a print format). The link to the audio book for Chosen was immediately connected to my sales page. The same thing was true for iTunes, but both do have direct links.

In the same ‘you’re live’ email from ACX, they give you a list of stuff you can do to promote, which includes how to get your promotion codes. It’s recommended that you email ACX for your codes, and ACX gives you a link to the proper email account to do that. I thought it would take a few more days for them to respond but they got right back to me the same day with 20 codes that you can use with Amazon or Audible, but not iTunes.

Also in the email with the promo advice was an incentive to help get people to sign up for a free trial with Audible. Authors and producers get a nice bonus if you get someone to sign up and then buy/click your audio book first. (The audio book is free as a special offer for signing up!) They also send you detailed instructions on how to make a direct link to your audio book with the sign up free trial offer. Here’s that link:

http://www.audible.com/offers/30free?asin=B071NFRMHW

So if you’re interested in getting into Audio Books, click there. If you’re already a member of Audible, hit me up here and I’ll get you a code!

A word again about the cover. You can’t use your Amazon or iTunes book cover because the dimensions are different.

Chosen 1-11-17

Amazon book cover

Chosen Audio Cover1

Audible book cover

As you can see the Audible cover is wider, and you’ll have to alter your book cover either yourself or with your designer. They won’t approve your audio book with a stretched cover. Good thing, because it would look terrible!

Next up, I’m going to be interviewing my producer, Keith McCarthy. Be sure to let me know in the comments if you have specific questions for him! You can also take a listen to the first several chapters of CHOSEN right here on Keith’s YouTube channel. Check it out!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Audio books

Kindle Books and Tips

banner

This is a great website to find awesome deals for your Kindle. Scroll down a bit and you’ll find one from me! Guardains of the Word Box Set Books 1-3 on sale for $.99! Check it out here! http://www.fkbooksandtips.com/ While you’re there, click that like tab to keep getting those great deals.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Amazon, Guardians of the Word

What does your favorite twin smell like?

“Smells are triggers. They help you remember specific times, events, places.” Dynan Telaerin.

essential oils

This October, I’m going to be at Hallowread, in Ellicott City, MD – a book festival for fans of Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Steam Punk and Horror. (Can you guess where Chosen might fit in amongst those categories?) You can get information on the festival and all the activities here: HallowRead Book Festival

soaps

As part of the fun, many hotel guests and participants will receive specially made soaps for the event. The soaps will also have custom labels, including for the Guardians of the Word series for Dynan and Dain Telaerin. These soaps are being brewed up to each author’s specifications to match how these fragrances will best fit our characters. Here’s where I need your help.

My question to you, what fragrance makes you think of Dynan and Dain? Would sea salt air suit them, due to growing up on the cliffs by the Wythe Sea, or perhaps an earthier quality? Cool idea, right? I only have a couple days to decide what to tell the soap maker to make.

Here’s what I’ve narrowed down from the list of fragrances and oils she has provided. They are either essential oils or fragrance oils. So you tell me – which of these smells most represent Dynan and Dain Telaerin to you?

Post here! Let me know by Friday, June 21!

Dain

 1-Wild mint with Ocean and Myrrh

2-Tangerine with Sage and Fire

3-Labdanum with Thyme and White Amber

Dynan

4-Cassia (a cross between cinnamon and nutmeg) with Ocean and White Chocolate

5- Almond with Ivy and Caramel

6- Blood orange with Cardamom and Clove.

I’d love to hear what you think. ONE LUCKY WINNER who comments will get a bar of these specially made delights in the scent of their favorite twin. You can comment here on this post or on my FB page: https://www.facebook.com/JoleaMHarrison

Make sure you list the character name and the corresponding number (Dain #2, Dynan #5 – as an example), and be sure you pick a scent for BOTH! Comment by FRIDAY, JUNE 21 to enter. Please only one entry per person! Thanks for playing!

For more chances to have a bar of these soaps, well, you should come to HallowRead this fall, Oct. 25-27 in Ellicott City, Maryland. I’ll be there and I’d love to meet you!

4 Comments

Filed under Contest