Union is coming…very soon!

Psst – the release date is Friday! July 20th!

The next book in the Guardians of the Word series is Union. I know, I just released Legend last month, but I was ‘late’ doing so. Legend was supposed to be released in late April. I changed that to May and couldn’t make that deadline either. So, I ended up publishing Legend in June.

All the while, as I worked to get the problems with Legend fixed, I never stopped working on Union. For one thing, it was a complete story, beginning to end and didn’t need to be finished the way Legend had to be, and it didn’t need any major rewriting as some others have required.

I don’t want to say it was easy. Publishing a book is a mammoth undertaking. There are a seemingly infinite number of details that have to be checked and double-checked. Even triple-checked! Maybe just less difficult will suffice. Even the cover came together much faster than I thought it would. And so, without any further ado – here it is.

I was fortunate during the creation process to have the assistance of one of the best cover designers out there, Christine DeMaio-Rice of Flip City Books. If you need a cover, this is the place to go get one. The services at Flip City at reasonably priced and you can’t beat the talent. You can find them here – Flip City Books  Christine gave me reams and reams of advice on how to organize, put together, deal with clothes, layers, light, shadow, backgrounds…that list was nearly endless – at the same time as promoting the necessity of putting my own stamp on it. The lady has the patience of a saint, and I highly recommend her services.

I hope that you are intrigued by the cover and that it gives you enough of a hint about what’s to come in Union. For those of you who have chomping at the bit – the wait is over on Friday. Happy Summer!

7 Comments

Filed under Fantasy books, Science fiction, YA fantasy

7 responses to “Union is coming…very soon!

  1. Bonnie

    I can’t wait! Just finished Legend, My teenager is now onboard and have the ladies at lunch group at work now waiting with me too! Thanks!:D

  2. Pam

    I am hoping that “Union” in part means Dain and Dynan finally being reunited; although the bi-line leads you to believe it once again won’t be easy for them! I introduced the series to a group at work – lunchtime is Guardian discussion time about where we think (or would like) the series to go! We were all a-buzz after getting the email today. So happy to hear the wait is almost over 🙂

  3. Paula Barrows

    Oooooooo I can’t wait

  4. Thanks Matt! I think you’ll like the stuff I added in. I’m looking forward to Friday!

  5. The cover is brilliant I know you said Christine helped but I’m always astounded by how brilliant your covers are. Congratulations on creating what is possibly your best one yet.

    As for UNION itself I can’t wait to read it and see how it’s changed since I last seen it.

Leave a Reply

