Write for You

Out in the blogosphere, I’m constantly seeing tips on writing, tips for getting out of writer’s block, tips on grammar,

tips for this, that or the other thing regarding the artistic endeavor of writing the next best selling book. It’s too much! 

People are making these great and grand suggestions everywhere, and while I do appreciate the effort, it’s like drowning in a sea of how-tos. I think if I listen to all these writing tips, my own voice would be lost. There’s too much clutter. I can’t do them all.

This is going to sound somewhat egocentric, but honestly, I write for me.

I write because I have these images in my head, a nearly constantly running movie that I want to try and clearly transcribe to paper so the vision remains after I read it. And it’s not as if getting this stuff into written form makes the images go away. Far from it. Writing makes it worse! I can be walking through a museum or down a crowded street and get hit by an idea for a new story or a continuing one that should be set on that street corner or is inspired by the painting on the wall.

I write about things that are interesting to me, and because I’m fairly average in my likes and dislikes, it’s probable that other people may have the same tastes.

Most of us are more alike than not, so it’s probable that no matter what kind of story you’ve dreamed up, there will be an audience for it.

So my very easy writing tip of the day is to write for you. Write what you see in your head. Write what inspires you. Your writing voice will shine forward if you take the locks off. In short, write what you know, how you know it. Have faith. The rest will come.

11 Comments

Filed under writing

11 responses to “Write for You

  1. Kathryn H

    The best Christmas present I could ever get (or so I thought) was my own room to write whatever I wanted. My own space to let the creativity fly. What I have found is the daily hustle and bustle of my family moving around tends to lead the way to my creative powers 🙂

  2. books4me

    I write what is in my dreams which is how my ideas come to me. I write HOW I want and WHEN I want. What works for one doesn’t work for another. Outlines do NOT work for me. Character profiles do NOT work for me either.

    books4me67 at ymail dot com

  3. Well you know the saying – you can’t please everyone. Constructive criticism is a good thing, but there comes a point when you have to be able to say, no, this is the way it is and the way it’s going to stay. In general, I’ll only change something if three different readers say something about the same thing. THEN you know you’ve got an issue! Otherwise, I make a judgement on how important it is for a line to stay the same and about how easy or difficult it would be to change. I’ve gotten a fairly thick skin over the years, so people can lob whatever criticism they want at me. Sometimes it’s good and sometimes I’m quite adept at ignoring it!

  4. Leanna Hiner

    I agree everyone may have tips or suggestions but the only opinion that really matters is your own. I always hate to have other people read my writing because even though I know it is good I am always worried they will find something wrong.

  5. Nicely said I feel the same way, All those “tips” can be useful but there are so many of them you couldn’t possibly use them all “Writing for me” sounds like a good philosophy.

  6. I completely agree, Jolea. If everyone wrote the same way books would be so boring! I think when most people open a book they want to be taken to a different place, to hear things described in a whole new way, and to see the world through someone else’s eyes for change.

Leave a Reply

