A visit from a Princess – 5 of them.

I’m royally honored to have a visit by Stacy Lynn Carroll, author of The Princess Sisters, a young adult novel about…well, put your glass slippers on and find out.

1.     Tell me a little bit about yourself.

I got my degree in Creative Writing from the University of Utah, after first attending Utah State University for three years. I’ve been writing my entire life and have won several contests for my poetry and short stories. I met my husband in high school, we were good friends, but I didn’t realize he was my prince until my last year of college. We were married in 05’ and now have two beautiful little girls who keep me very busy.

2.     I bet they do. Fantastic! So do you have a preferred genre that you read? Is it the same as what you write?

I love Young Adult books! It doesn’t matter how old I get, young adult will always be my favorite genre. I don’t think you can get too old for sweet, romantic tales and high school trials. We’ve all been there, or we all will be there, so everyone can relate to the stories in some way. Yes, I write Young Adult because it’s what I like to read myself.

3.     I find that I read a lot of Young Adult books too. I have a harder time toning my writing down. What about you? Are there any aspects of writing you struggle with?

Getting started. It takes me forever to get the first couple chapters written because I write and re-write, as I start to get a feel for the story and my characters. Then, once I am comfortable with the voice and flow of the book, the story moves on easily from there.

4.     Sounds familiar. Now for the really important question – What’s the title of your book? Tell me a little about it.

“The Princess Sisters”. It is a modern tale of five cousins who have the misfortune of being named after fairy tale princesses. They struggle with their names, and anything that references them to their namesake. Ariel is scared of the water, Snow White won’t eat apples, etc. It’s also a book about finding a true prince and not settling for a guy who doesn’t treat you well.

5.     Tell me something about the story that isn’t in the blurb.

There are a lot of fun, pop culture references throughout the book. It’s fun to try and figure out where the references are from as you read the story, and if you get stuck on one, there is an index in the back.

6.      That’s a great idea. Where did the inspiration for your story come from?

Talking baby names with my husband one night. When I was little, I wanted to grow up and name my daughter Aurora, because Sleeping Beauty was my favorite princess. It got me wondering, what would happen to a group of girls if they were really named after princesses?

7.     What is the location of your story setting and why did you choose that place/time?

The story takes place in Layton, Utah. I wanted the girls to grow up in a smaller city, but not a teeny town. My husband and I had just moved to Layton when I started the book, which is why I chose it. I was learning a new city at the same time as my readers.

8.     Who is your favorite character and why?

I love each of the five girls for different reasons. I think they each possess a different quality I have, or wish I had, or have maybe struggled with myself. But as I wrote, Cinderella seemed to stand out to me the most. It was not my original intention, but I think in many ways she became the leader of the group. I love the way she grows and develops throughout the book, and she seems to have a good connection with each of the other girls.

9.     Did the story come out the way you envisioned it?

Not at all! I started writing in one direction, thinking I knew exactly where the story would end up, but the characters and their circumstances took it another way. I think it ended up in a much better place than I originally wanted. I also ended up having to turn it into a series (which I didn’t think it would be at first) because there were just too many things I wanted to fit into one book.

10.  
All right! So there are going to be more. That’s excellent news! Now, tell us where readers can find you –

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Princess-Sisters-Book/162165840489424

Twitter: @StacyLCarroll

Website: www.stacylynncarroll.com

E-mail: stacylynncarroll@gmail.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9752133-the-princess-sisters

Book trailer: The Princess Sisters Book Trailer!

Here are links where you can purchase Stacy’s awesome, YA book. Really, check it out!

Amazon: The Princess Sisters at Amazon

Barnes & Noble: The Princess Sisters at Barnes and Noble

Smashwords: The Princess Sisters at Smashwords

2 Comments

Filed under Young Adult Books

2 responses to “A visit from a Princess – 5 of them.

  1. Rachel

    Red sent me. RedTash.com

  2. Pingback: StacyLynnCarroll.com » Blog Archive » Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

