Mad Gods Are Here…An Interview with Athanasios Galanis

Welcome to Athanasios Galanis. He’s stopping by as part of the Indie Writers Unite Blog Tour. Athanasios is the author of Mad Gods, vol. I-V. The reviews are great  “Mad Gods … is an addictive read that will immensely satisfy its readers.” So if you’re looking for a great read to wrap up the summer, check out the links at the end of the interview.

Athanasias, tell me a little bit about yourself.

I’m Athanasios Galanis & I’ve been weaving factual and conjectured history into my stories to make them believable and current. In the meantime I’ve paid the bills by working as a graphic/video artist in a dvd/film production house in Montreal, Canada. 

2.     Do you have a preferred genre that you read? Is it the same as what you write?

Growing up I read fantasy, horror and comic books.  As I got older I saw much of the themes and concepts inherent in those genres in the world around me so my interests turned more to documentaries and factual history but also historical fiction and gut wrenching realism. 

3.     Are there any aspects of writing you struggle with?

Financial success. 

4.     What’s the title of your book? Tell me a little about it.

Mad Gods is the first in Predatory Ethics, an as yet indeterminate series detailing our cultural and global enthrallment with entertainment, distraction and by extension religion. Predatory Ethics contends that religion is the first entertainment that tried to explain and instruct upon existence. 

5.     Tell me something about the story that isn’t in the blurb.

Mad Gods is classic mythology made current. I spent grade 2 & 3 in Greece. At the time they taught the ancient myths and I devoured them. I saw direct comparisons to the current Christian myths and wanted to tell their stories. I didn’t like the interpretations of black & white we put on good & evil. In the Olympian myths nobody was one or the other but both, so Mad Gods presents that fact. It brings it to a final evolution of Man’s Duality, as the Savior in Mad Gods is Christ & Antichrist. 

6.      Where did the inspiration for your story come from?

There were many inspirations for the story. The first was watching the original Omen and refusing to believe anybody would want to willfully destroy the world. I just didn’t believe it. The second was the understanding perception of reality. Many religions have explanations of it but we still don’t get it. I’m not saying I do, but I know enough to see that I can’t. I’m built to interpret my mortal world through my senses and intellect, and I don’t think we can understand true reality through those tools. The third was writing the story and seeing that many times I just watched television or other distractions and used that as motivation for many of the characters in Mad Gods. 

7.     What is the location of your story setting and why did you choose that place/time?

The story goes all over the place and all over time because I want to tell an all-encompassing tale with universal themes. I tall order I know, but I’m enjoying doing it. 

8.     It sounds interesting! Who is your favorite character and why?

The story itself is my favorite. Every character within it is used as a tool to explain what I want to impart. I could come out and write a dissertation of reality and experience and lose everybody on the first page or I could make human characters do the same thing with their actions and motivations within a story. Every character I write has a fragment of myself within it, whether it is retelling a story or complete fabrication I’ve connected with them and at times I’m awed and at others I’m repulsed by it. 

9.     Did the story come out the way you envisioned it?

No it’s better.  I had the kernel of the story but I write stream of consciousness so I work from a basic outline and let it fly. 

10.   Where can readers find you?

On Amazon!

MAD GODS REDUX   Mad Gods Redux

MadGods-Volume I   MadGods-Vol I

MadGods-Volume II  MadGods-Vol II

MadGods-Volume III MadGods-Vol III

MadGods-Volume IV MadGods-Vol IV

MadGods-Volume V  MadGods-Vol V

1 Comment

Filed under fantasy, Guest Blog, Indie Publishing, Indie Writers Unite Blog Tour, Publishing, writing

One response to “Mad Gods Are Here…An Interview with Athanasios Galanis

  1. Great interview! I am looking forward to reading your books now as soon as I get a spare moment!

    Thanks!
    Bella Marie

Leave a Reply

